Pretty Opinionated http://www.prettyopinionated.com Fri, 17 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=4.1.1 6 Easy Yet Absolutely Lovely DIY Mother’s Day Jewelry Gift Ideashttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/6-easy-yet-absolutely-lovely-diy-mothers-day-jewelry-gift-ideas/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/6-easy-yet-absolutely-lovely-diy-mothers-day-jewelry-gift-ideas/#comments Fri, 17 Apr 2015 13:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=41632 Back before Jacob was born, I dabbled it the DIY jewelry making world a bit. I was actually pretty decent at it, considering my typical lack of crafting talent! Then when Jake came, I just never had a chance to pick it back up again. I love seeing what other people are creating, though. It inspires me to dig out my beads and get back into it. Mother’s Day is the perfect time to give it another go, don’t you think? Today, I’m sharing some of my favorite DIY Mother’s Day jewelry gift ideas from exceptionally talented bloggers. These projects […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

Back before Jacob was born, I dabbled it the DIY jewelry making world a bit. I was actually pretty decent at it, considering my typical lack of crafting talent! Then when Jake came, I just never had a chance to pick it back up again. I love seeing what other people are creating, though. It inspires me to dig out my beads and get back into it. Mother’s Day is the perfect time to give it another go, don’t you think?

6 Easy Yet Absolutely Lovely DIY Mother's Day Jewelry Gift Ideas

Today, I’m sharing some of my favorite DIY Mother’s Day jewelry gift ideas from exceptionally talented bloggers. These projects range from easy enough for novice jewelry makers & crafters to those with a more expert level of talent.

DIY Mother’s Day Gift Ideas: Handmade Jewelry Gifts

Spring-Stamped-Charm-Lockets-3.1

DIY Spring Charm Lockets from Happy Hour Projects: These are just beautiful and so unique! I had no idea you could actually MAKE a locket. While it’s probably a little out of my talent range, I think the tutorial will make it easy for anyone with a moderate level of crafting talent.

MothersDayCraft

DIY Mother’s Day Pendant from OurFamilyWorld: You only need three things to make this pretty pendant craft, and one is a wire cutter. It’s super easy to make. If you’re making it for your mom, use your birthstone along with your siblings. Only child? Then just use her favorite colors!

 

 

faux-gemstone-wrap-bracelets

DIY Wrap Bracelet with Faux Gemstones by Moms & Crafters: The bracelet itself is gorgeous, but her tutorial on creating those faux gemstones is probably one of the coolest things I’ve seen in DIY jewelry making! I want to make like a million of them! It’s actually easy enough that I could do it.

Faux-Turquoise-Jewelry-With-Polymer-Clay-10

How To Make Faux Turquoise Jewelry With Polymer Clay by Practically Functional: Love the look of turquoise jewelry but don’t want to go out and buy it? Make your own with this easy tutorial! It looks just like the real thing, doesn’t it?

Lovely-Ombre-Earrings-Tutorial-from-Bombshell-Bling

Lovely Ombre Earrings Tutorial from Bombshell Bling: Don’t you just love that share of purple? I don’t wear earrings because I let my holes close and I’m too much of a baby to pop them back through, but I’d definitely consider it for these!

DIY washi tape cuff bracelet gift for mother's day craft tutorial  (1)

DIY Washi Tape Cuff Bracelet from OurFamilyWorld: This is one we just published over at OurFamilyWorld (where, as you may know, I am the editor). It’s SO easy to make that you could give the supplies and simple directions to your kids and let them create it for YOU for Mother’s Day! Plus, it’s a great way to recycle (so it’s kind of like an Earth Day project too!).

Don’t you just love all these great DIY Mother’s Day gift ideas? Make something special for your mom or show your favorite idea to your kids and let them get crafting!

Which of these DIY Mother’s Day gift ideas is your favorite? 

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/6-easy-yet-absolutely-lovely-diy-mothers-day-jewelry-gift-ideas/feed/ 0
The Age of Adaline Girls Night Out Movie Guide #Adalinehttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/the-age-of-adaline-girls-night-out-movie-guide-adaline/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/the-age-of-adaline-girls-night-out-movie-guide-adaline/#comments Thu, 16 Apr 2015 14:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=41613 I participated in an Influencer Activation on behalf of Influence Central for Lionsgate. I received a promotional item to thank me for my participation. The Age of Adaline releases on April 24th in theaters nationwide at 7Pm, making the perfect girl’s night out movie for those of us who have to be home in time for sitter’s with curfews! Ever since I saw the trailer for this movie while watching one of my many favorite shows, I’ve been dying to see it. Unlike Adaline, who will never die. Adaline is 29. She will always be 29. That’s so funny, because I will […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

I participated in an Influencer Activation on behalf of Influence Central for Lionsgate. I received a promotional item to thank me for my participation.

The Age of Adaline Girls Night Out Movie Guide: Discover the magic and whimsical beauty of The Age of Adaline, plus check out fun discussion topics for after the movie! #Adaline #IC (Sponsored)

The Age of Adaline releases on April 24th in theaters nationwide at 7Pm, making the perfect girl’s night out movie for those of us who have to be home in time for sitter’s with curfews! Ever since I saw the trailer for this movie while watching one of my many favorite shows, I’ve been dying to see it. Unlike Adaline, who will never die.

Adaline is 29. She will always be 29. That’s so funny, because I will always be 29 too! I wasn’t in an accident that stopped me from aging, of course. I just pretend I’m never going to get older. Hey, it works for me! Enough joking about my age, though. Let’s talk The Age of Adaline, because this is going to be a GREAT movie. So many cool themes to make it the perfect girls night out flick! Let’s check out the trailer, then talk about the movie some more:

The Age of Adaline stars the gorgeous Blake Lively as Adaline Bowman, a woman born at the turn of the 20th century. An accident magically stops her from aging. Obviously, this isn’t something that you can go around flaunting, so she ends up living a pretty secluded life. That is, until she meets the handsome Ellis. Of course, falling in love when you’re pretty much ageless comes with a price. Is it worth it? I guess we’ll have to see the movie to find out!

The Age of Adaline Girls Night Out Discussion Guide

The Age of Adaline Girls Night Out Discussion Guide

Blake Lively stars as ‘Adaline Bowman’ in THE AGE OF ADALINE. Photo Credit: Diyah Pera

 

While I haven’t seen the movie yet, I am fascinated by some of the themes celebrated in The Age of Adaline. Since I think all great movies lead to great discussion, I’ve created a fun discussion guide for your girls night out focusing on a few of those themes!

The Question of Immortality 

Let’s start with the main theme: the idea of never growing old and never dying. It’s a common theme in literature and films, although usually accompanies an incredible level of violence. The Age of Adaline has taken the theme and made it into a beautiful, epic romantic fantasy.  I think just about every human has fantasized about finding the key to immortality. After seeing the movie, though, do you think the cost is too high? Would you want to outlive everyone you’ve ever loved?

Physical versus mental age

Adaline LOOKS 29. Her body is 29. Does that mean her MIND is 29? Do we age mentally at the same rate we age physically? Look at examples in the real world. We call someone immature or, on the other end of the spectrum, an “old soul.” What really matters more: physical or mental age?

Mother/Daughter Relationship

 Discover the magic and whimsical beauty of The Age of Adaline, starring Blake Lively, plus check out fun discussion topics for after the movie!

Flemming (Ellen Burstyn, left) and Adaline Bowman (Blake Lively, right) in THE AGE OF ADALINE. Photo Credit: Diyah Pera

 

Adaline ‘s daughter actually ages beyond her mother in the film. Can you imagine what it would be like to become older than your mom, physically speaking? I think this them just highlights that a mom takes care of her children, no matter how old they get. Of all the people that you would lose by never aging, a child would be the hardest.

Fashion through the Age

Speaking of shoes, can you imagine living through decades of fashion changes? I’m jealous that Adaline got to live during the stylish 20s and 30s. Then I feel bad for her because I remember the 80s and 90s. Discuss with your girlfriends which fashion era you’d love to be stuck in! If you’re feeling really adventurous, you can even dress in your favorite era’s style for the movie!

True Love

Adaline Bowman (Blake Lively) and Ellis Jones (Michiel Huisman) in THE AGE OF ADALINE. Photo Credit: Diyah Pera

Adaline Bowman (Blake Lively) and Ellis Jones (Michiel Huisman) in THE AGE OF ADALINE. Photo Credit: Diyah Pera

The Age of Adaline is a love story of epic proportions. Adaline has such a huge decision to make. Should she risk everything and let the man she loves in on her secret or let him go and remain alone? What would you do in her shoes?

These are just a few discussion themes to get you started. Of course, you can always just go enjoy the movie without getting into a deep conversation, but The Age of Adaline just inspires so many fun conversation opportunities. It’s the perfect film for girl’s night out, date night and for a Mother’s Day night out with mom.

Learn more about this visually stunning and enchantingly unique film at the official The Age of Adaline website. Check out The Age of Adaline Tumblr for a really cool look at Adaline through the decades.

 

 

 

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/the-age-of-adaline-girls-night-out-movie-guide-adaline/feed/ 0
5 Tax Organization Tips for the Disorganized Soulhttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/tax-organization-tips-for-the-insanely-disorganized/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/tax-organization-tips-for-the-insanely-disorganized/#comments Wed, 15 Apr 2015 06:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=41627 Tax season is officially over- unless you’ve extended your deadline. I actually have this intense fear of talking about my tax organization system, because I’m terrified it will trigger some sort of IRS spy software and they’ll come audit me. I’m too broke for that (I drive a 13 year old car that’s had a check-engine light on for 8 months, creepy government agent guys, so really think if you’re going to get anything worthwhile from me)! On the other hand, I thought maybe my insanely disorganized organization system may be beneficial to others out there who thrive in chaos […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

Even the incredibly disorganized soul can make next year's tax time a breeze with these easy tax organization tips for the chaotic person!

Tax season is officially over- unless you’ve extended your deadline. I actually have this intense fear of talking about my tax organization system, because I’m terrified it will trigger some sort of IRS spy software and they’ll come audit me. I’m too broke for that (I drive a 13 year old car that’s had a check-engine light on for 8 months, creepy government agent guys, so really think if you’re going to get anything worthwhile from me)!

On the other hand, I thought maybe my insanely disorganized organization system may be beneficial to others out there who thrive in chaos like me, and I DO like to be helpful. So I’m sharing 5 tax organization tips for the insanely disorganized in an attempt to help you get ready for NEXT year’s taxes! Ready?

5 Tax Organization Tips for the Chaotic Soul

First, let me say that I’m not an accountant. I’m not a bookkeeper, an administrative assistant or even a former secretary. I have zero office experience. I am a writer. That’s about it. So I’m not offering advice on how to do your taxes. Okay?

1. Keep it simple. I’ve seen (and downloaded) some incredibly detailed & gorgeous tax organization and budgeting templates out there. I love looking at them. I love using them…for about a day. The problem is, they’re just too darn awesome. Sounds crazy, but for me, the best way to track my money is with two simple sheets in one little excel book.

  • Sheet 1: Three lines columns. Column A shows post title. Column B shows the amount I received from it. Column C: who I got it from.
  • Sheet 2: Expenses. I have columns for my hosting fees, my professional memberships, the different tools that I pay for, etc. While this sheet has more columns, it’s still insanely dull looking and simple. I don’t get distracted by all the prettiness of it.

2. Use a pretty box. While my spreadsheets are boring and simple, the box that I keep all my receipts and check stubs (for the few places that still use checks) is actually very pretty. It stands out and reminds me to use it. It’s also easier to find in the clutter of my office space.

3. Actually USE the pretty box. Yes, this is a separate tip because if you’re anything like me, you will go out and buy the most beautiful box on the planet. Then it will sit there empty for about six months. So to get organized for next year’s taxes, you MUST actually USE the pretty box. Now. Today. Right away. Go ahead, take the lid off, inhale the scent of fresh boxy goodness and put your first receipt inside. So exciting, right? Not really, but it’s taxes, it’s not meant to be exciting.

4. Create a schedule that works for you. Sure, it makes sense to log your payments, expenses, etc the moment they occur, but really, are you going to actually do that? Telling yourself that you’ll spend X amount of time every day doing your book keeping is just going to stress you out when you forget to do it. Once a month, I go through everything and update my simple spreadsheets. If I’m feeling extra industrious, I’ll do it more often one month. Create a tax organization schedule that makes sense for YOUR personality. That’s the only way you’ll stick to it. If you set goals based on other people’s personalities, your psyche will rebel against them.

5.  Admit when you need help. If you can afford an accountant, hire one. If not, enlist a family member or friend to help you out. Maybe you have a teenager who rocks at math or a husband who wants to help you out. If you’re not comfortable handing over all the accounting, let someone organize your receipts for you. I do everything on my own right now, but the minute I can afford it, I’m totally outsourcing the accounting! Hey, I can admit my weaknesses. I don’t like numbers. They bore the pants off of me. I like the money, don’t get me wrong. But numbers? Ugh.

So there you go, my tax organization tips for the totally disorganized. It works for me. I had my taxes done by the middle of February. I would have been ready to roll on January 1st, but I had to wait for my 1099s, updated tax laws and what not. So while I may SEEM like a total scatter brain when it comes to staying organized, my system works pretty well.

For more helpful tax related posts, check out a few of my favorite bloggers.

How do you keep your taxes organized? Tell me in the comments!

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/tax-organization-tips-for-the-insanely-disorganized/feed/ 3
Be the Next Voice of the BAND-AID Brand “Stuck on Me” Jingle!http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/be-the-next-voice-of-the-band-aid-brand-stuck-on-me-jingle/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/be-the-next-voice-of-the-band-aid-brand-stuck-on-me-jingle/#comments Tue, 14 Apr 2015 14:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=41615 I’ve partnered with BAND-AID® Brand to share this exciting news with you. All opinions are my own. What is the first thing you think of when you the BAND-AID® Brand name? If you’re like me, you start singing one of the variations of the “I am stuck on BAND-AID® Brand cause BAND-AID®‘s stuck on me!” Considering I’m the mom of a boy AND I’m personally one of the klutziest people on earth, you can imagine how often that jingle runs through my head. Wouldn’t it be cool if it was YOUR family’s voice that went along with it? BAND-AID®  “Stuck on Me” Jingle Contest BAND-AID® […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

I’ve partnered with BAND-AID® Brand to share this exciting news with you. All opinions are my own.

Band Aid Contest Picture

What is the first thing you think of when you the BAND-AID® Brand name? If you’re like me, you start singing one of the variations of the “I am stuck on BAND-AID® Brand cause BAND-AID®‘s stuck on me!” Considering I’m the mom of a boy AND I’m personally one of the klutziest people on earth, you can imagine how often that jingle runs through my head. Wouldn’t it be cool if it was YOUR family’s voice that went along with it?

BAND-AID®  “Stuck on Me” Jingle Contest

Want to win a trip for 4 to the 2016 Radio Disney Music Awards? Show off your family's talent by submitting a video singing the "Stuck on Me" BAND-AID Brand jingle!

BAND-AID® Brand is on the hunt for the next big “Stuck on Me” jingle star, and it could just be your family! Now through June 6th, submit a video of your kids- or whole family- singing the famous “Stuck on Me” jingle and you could win some amazing prizes! These include:

  • Grand Prize: a trip for 4 to the 2016 Radio Disney Music Awards in Los Angeles.
  • 1st Runner Up Prize: a trip for 2 to New York City
  • 2nd Runner Up Prize: a guitar autographed by a Radio Disney Music Awards nominee

They also have a bi-weekly prize of a $150 gift card, a Radio Disney Music Award CD and an automatic finalist spot. After all the submissions are received, voting begins through June 27th. The big winner will be announced on July 8th.

What are you waiting for? Get out your camera, smartphone or other video taking apparatus (I’ve been looking for a chance to use that word for a while) and start filming your cutie patootie singing the “Stuck on Me” jingle! It’s already running through your head now, make that earworm pay off!

Enter the BAND-AID®  “Stuck on Me” Jingle Contest here!

What do you love most about  BAND-AID® Brand? Tell me in the comments!

 

 

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/04/be-the-next-voice-of-the-band-aid-brand-stuck-on-me-jingle/feed/ 0