Pretty Opinionated http://www.prettyopinionated.com Thu, 24 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9.1 Second Chance Bride Promo Blast: $25 Amazon Gift Card Giveawayhttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/second-chance-bride-promo/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/second-chance-bride-promo/#comments Thu, 24 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=38439 After being jilted, practically at the altar, Genie Wainwright heads to Hawaii to escape the well-meant pity party her friends and family are bound to throw on her behalf. What she never expects is to find someone to help her mend her broken heart. Donnie Taylor, owner of the posh Sapphire Bay Resort, has no interest in marriage—until he meets an unforgettable guest at the hotel. What starts out as a kindhearted gesture brings Donnie something he never expects—love! Buy on: Amazon | B&N | iTunes (Preorder on Aug 15th)   About the author: NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

SecondChanceBrideBannerSecond-Chance-Bride resizedAfter being jilted, practically at the altar, Genie Wainwright heads to Hawaii to escape the well-meant pity party her friends and family are bound to throw on her behalf. What she never expects is to find someone to help her mend her broken heart.

Donnie Taylor, owner of the posh Sapphire Bay Resort, has no interest in marriage—until he meets an unforgettable guest at the hotel. What starts out as a kindhearted gesture brings Donnie something he never expects—love!

Buy on:
Amazon | B&N | iTunes (Preorder on Aug 15th)

 

About the author:

Author Sandra EdwardsNEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY Bestselling Author Sandra Edwards writes award-winning romance in a variety of subgenres such as paranormal (mostly time travel and reincarnation), contemporary, and suspense. She lives in the U.S. (west coast) with her husband, two kids, four dogs and one very temperamental feline. Sandra’s books often push the envelope and step outside the boundaries of conventional romance. For more info on Sandra’s books, visit her website at www.sandrawrites.com. Sign up for Sandra’s NEW RELEASE ALERT at http://bit.ly/1k31XDr.

Follow Sandra:

Facebook | Twitter

Read the Reviews
Mama’s Got Flair

My Mismatched World

For Him and My Family

The Mama Chronicles

Totally Random Family Gal

Niki’s Book Blog

Enter to win a $25 Amazon GC from the Author. Open INT 18+, fill out the form to enter. Ends 8/10/14 @ 11:59 PM EST
a Rafflecopter giveaway

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/second-chance-bride-promo/feed/ 2
5 Ways to Systemize Your Personal Finances Without an Accountanthttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/5-ways-systemize-personal-finances-without-accountant/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/5-ways-systemize-personal-finances-without-accountant/#comments Thu, 24 Jul 2014 10:00:07 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=38595 Being an entrepreneur myself, I know the frustration that is sometimes brought about by having a diversified income stream. My investment portfolio, credit cards, home, car, and any number of other tangible or intangible assets or liabilities make for a hectic job when it comes tax time. In the past, the solution was always “hire a good accountant” and while that’s still solid advice, it’s not the only way to do things. I manage my finances personally, and while I could save some time and money with an accountant, I like to know where everything is, and where it’s going. […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

Being an entrepreneur myself, I know the frustration that is sometimes brought about by having a diversified income stream. My investment portfolio, credit cards, home, car, and any number of other tangible or intangible assets or liabilities make for a hectic job when it comes tax time. In the past, the solution was always “hire a good accountant” and while that’s still solid advice, it’s not the only way to do things. I manage my finances personally, and while I could save some time and money with an accountant, I like to know where everything is, and where it’s going.

5 Ways to Systemize Your Personal Finances Without an Accountant

Here’s what I do in order to make my accountant-free life as fast and efficient as possible.

Automate your bills each month.

I use an application that allows me to track expenses and utilize online bill pay services in order to minimize the time I spend at the desk each month writing out checks. The biggest benefit to this is in the ability to set up recurring payments for fixed expenses each month, such as employee salary, rent for the office, my mortgage, car payment and the like. Variable expenses are just as easy, and they take me just minutes to set up an online payment each month. Not having to worry about whether you remembered to pay the power company, or if the rent for last month was paid on time, is a huge time saver as well as a smart way to operate your business.

Having an app to do all this from my phone or tablet doesn’t hurt either.

Keep things separated.

When I first started out, I was in quite a bind because I regularly used my business account for personal items and my personal account for business expenses. This lead to quite a burden around tax time when I had to re-trace my steps line by line and attempt to separate the two.

Track personal expenses too.

We all know the importance of keeping solid business financial data, but tracking your personal finances is often overlooked. Tracking your personal finances keeps you in the “tracking” mindset and doesn’t allow you to slack off on your business accounting. I find that when I start slipping on my personal finance tracking, the business accounting is sure to follow. By staying on top of both, it becomes a habit, and from a business or a personal standpoint, I’m keenly aware of where every cent is going.

Schedule quarterly audits.

Depending on the way your business is set up, you should be making estimated quarterly tax payments. This is a perfect time to ensure that everything is in order for your end of year taxes. Quarterly payments are based off of estimated income, so it makes the most sense to audit these finances quarterly and edit (up or down) the amount of the payment based on what you find. This also makes it a breeze to file your taxes at the end of the year, as it isn’t a cram session during the first and second week of April to be sure everything is ready to go.

Ditch the shoebox method.

Saving paper receipts is a pain. Not only are they hard to locate when you need them, but they’re not a truly reliable way to store data. Instead, I opted to scan and store all receipts on the cloud. This allowed me to utilize tags and meta data as well as the date to sort and search for these without a great deal of effort. While there are a number of receipt scanners on the market, you can easily use the scanner you already have (along with some additional software) to tag, categorize and store your receipts online.

These methods work for me, but the best course of action for you might still be to hire an accountant. Having systems in place to handle each inefficiency greatly boosts my productivity while giving the control freak in me a way to manage everything without spending a ton of time on things that aren’t making me a ton of money.

Do you have an accountant? If not, what do you do (that’s not mentioned here) to keep your finances in order?

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/5-ways-systemize-personal-finances-without-accountant/feed/ 0
Being #Noseblind Can Cause Embarassment! Febreze Can Help! + Giveawayhttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/noseblind-can-cause-embarassment-febreze-can-help-giveaway/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/noseblind-can-cause-embarassment-febreze-can-help-giveaway/#comments Wed, 23 Jul 2014 14:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=38520 This review and giveaway was made possible by Double Duty Divas and Febreze. I was compensated for my participation in this campaign, but all opinions are 100% mine. Did you know that you can become Noseblind to odors in your home? Basically, you are so used to smelling them that your brain decides they’re not important. Eventually, you have no idea that there is an odor in your house! I kind of knew that, but never really gave it a whole lot of thought. Since we’re having a ton of guests over this weekend, I wanted to get a couple […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

This review and giveaway was made possible by Double Duty Divas and Febreze. I was compensated for my participation in this campaign, but all opinions are 100% mine.

Febreeze air effects

Did you know that you can become Noseblind to odors in your home? Basically, you are so used to smelling them that your brain decides they’re not important. Eventually, you have no idea that there is an odor in your house! I kind of knew that, but never really gave it a whole lot of thought. Since we’re having a ton of guests over this weekend, I wanted to get a couple of my close friends to do a “Noseblind test” with me to make sure my house is ready. We’ve been cleaning a lot, so I figured it should have been good to go!

Noseblind test reveals hidden odors

Here’s the thing: I have two old dogs, and they have that “old dog” smell (or so I’m told). I also have a house full of carpets, which absorb odors like there’s no tomorrow! For the Noseblind test, we had ourselves a little movie night get-together. We made buttery popcorn and watched some Buffy the Vampire Slayer (because I’m still on that kick!). Before settling in, I made them take surveys online saying how they thought my house smelled. They weren’t supposed to share that with me until the end of the night.

What I discovered is, as I mentioned, the “old dog” odor is a bit prolific. Since I’m not getting rid of my dogs, I need to find a way to get rid of that odor! That’s where Febreze came in.

Febreze saves you from Noseblind embarrassment

Febreze makes so many great products that can help eliminate odors in your home, including those you don’t even know exist! I wanted to see how fast Febreze could freshen my home. I started by spraying the Febreze Fabric Refresher on my sofa, where my pups often sit. Next, I used the Febreze Air Effects room spray. This worked the fasted, in my opinion. It not only replaces the odors without something nicer, it completely refreshes the air in the entire house. Even if you somehow manage to not have a single odor in your home, this is still a great product to use!

Being #Noseblind Can Cause Embarassment! Febreze Can Help!

My favorite of the Febreze products is the NOTICEables plug-ins. These don’t have quite the immediate effect as the sprays, but they last a really long time. I love that it alternates scents so you don’t get bored of the same one! Plus, it makes each refill last longer. I also love that it’s pretty unassuming, so it doesn’t clash with decor.

Being #Noseblind Can Cause Embarassment! Febreze Can Help!

Overall, my guests said that the old dog odor wasn’t noticeable after using the Febreze products! So now I know before I start my big party this weekend, I’ll spray and refresh the place with Febreze! Learn more about being Noseblind and how Febreze can help!

Febreze Prize Pack + $60 AMEX Gift Card Giveaway

Being #Noseblind Can Cause Embarassment! Febreze Can Help!

Want to try out all the Febreze products that I used, plus get a $60 AMEX gift card? Enter below for your chance to win! Giveaway is open to US residents age 18+ and ends on August 6th.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What odors do you think you may be Noseblind to in your home?

 

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/noseblind-can-cause-embarassment-febreze-can-help-giveaway/feed/ 35
Dorm Room Basics for Sharing a Bathroom with Strangershttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/dorm-room-basics-sharing-bathroom-strangers/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/dorm-room-basics-sharing-bathroom-strangers/#comments Wed, 23 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=38569 Congratulations! You’re off to college and moving into a dorm room. You know what that means? Well, a lot of things actually. Like staying up late…studying and eating junk food for breakfast! It also means sharing a bathroom with strangers! Yay, right? This was the one thing I dreaded most about living in a dorm room. I couldn’t stand showering in those little stalls with flimsy curtains. Forget about other stuff, I waited until the middle of the night! Sharing a bathroom with strangers- especially when the idea freaks you out- requires some planning. The fact that you have to […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

Dorm Room Basics for Sharing a Bathroom with Strangers | PrettyOpinionated.com

Congratulations! You’re off to college and moving into a dorm room. You know what that means? Well, a lot of things actually. Like staying up late…studying and eating junk food for breakfast! It also means sharing a bathroom with strangers! Yay, right? This was the one thing I dreaded most about living in a dorm room. I couldn’t stand showering in those little stalls with flimsy curtains. Forget about other stuff, I waited until the middle of the night!

Sharing a bathroom with strangers- especially when the idea freaks you out- requires some planning. The fact that you have to stand in line for showers and, sometimes, sink space, means you’ll need to be prepared. It really stinks to get to the front of the shower line only to discover that you forgot your shampoo or razor. It’s also kind of gross to get all clean, only to walk barefoot across a grimy floor back to your room! Can you say “foot fungus,” kids? Check out my favorite dorm room basics to help make sharing a bathroom with strangers a little easier!

Dorm Room Basics for Sharing a Bathroom with Strangers

Affiliate links are included in the handy collage of recommended products. Click on the pictures to go to the product pages!

Shower Caddy to carry all your supplies: This is pretty much THE must-have item. I love the Vessel from Quirky, pictured in the upper left corner. It’s easy to load up, not as bulky as a plastic caddy and hangs perfectly on the shower wall with its own suction cup. They didn’t have that when I went away to college. I had to sit my plastic caddy on the floor. It got all grungy pretty fast. Blech.

Super cool bath robe. You’re going to need a bath robe when you share a bathroom with strangers. Unless, of course, you prefer streaking naked through the halls or risking a tiny towel. The thing is, you can’t go off to college in a granny robe! You need something that makes a statement! Pottery Barn Teen makes some really adorable robes that are perfect dorm room basics.

Tooth brush holder. You don’t want your toothbrush hanging out on the grimy counter where your roommate has all her makeup spread out, do you? Bobble Brush, on the middle left,  is a whimsically designed toothbrush stand that keeps your toothbrush upright, bobbing, and grime-free. It’s practical and cute, something that all dorm room basics for sharing a bathroom with strangers should be!

Flip-Flops. Don’t let someone else’s grungy foot fungus become YOUR grungy foot fungus! Get a pair of cute flip flops. Wear them in the shower and keep them on your feet as you walk back to your dorm room.

Makeup Bag. Tote all your beauty essentials in an easy bag! I love the Lay-N-Go Beauty Bag (bottom left) because you can lay it open, toss in your necessities, then pull it shut.

Room spray! Shared bathrooms get pretty stinky pretty fast! Carry a great room spray that also doubles as a body spray. That way you can discreetly de-stink the air without offending your room mate.

These items are just a few dorm room basics that make sharing a bathroom with strangers a little easier. Which is your favorite?

 

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2014/07/dorm-room-basics-sharing-bathroom-strangers/feed/ 1