Pretty Opinionated http://www.prettyopinionated.com Fri, 27 Mar 2015 17:01:52 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=4.1.1 How to Spring Clean Your Beauty Routinehttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/how-to-spring-clean-your-beauty-routine/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/how-to-spring-clean-your-beauty-routine/#comments Fri, 27 Mar 2015 06:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=41378 Your house isn’t the only thing that needs spring cleaning! When the weather changes, so should your beauty routine. I’m going to give you a few easy tips on how to spring clean that beauty routine and transition your skin care regimen from winter to something better fit for warmer days. Emphasis on easy,” you know I’m not going to send you on a mission to buy $200 face cream or insist you change all your favorite products out for new ones. Transitioning Your Skin Care Routine from Winter to Spring Spring Cleaning Your Collection Let’s start with the basics, shall we? The […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

Your house isn’t the only thing that needs spring cleaning! When the weather changes, so should your beauty routine. I’m going to give you a few easy tips on how to spring clean that beauty routine and transition your skin care regimen from winter to something better fit for warmer days. Emphasis on easy,” you know I’m not going to send you on a mission to buy $200 face cream or insist you change all your favorite products out for new ones. When the weather changes, so should your beauty routine. Check out how to spring clean that beauty routine and transition your skin care regimen.

Transitioning Your Skin Care Routine from Winter to Spring

Spring Cleaning Your Collection Let’s start with the basics, shall we? The first thing you need to do to spring clean your beauty routine is actually throw stuff out! This is also the hardest part for me. I’m not a hoarder but I do have a difficult time letting things go. Even if it’s a $2 lipstick. Follow these steps to spring clean your beauty supplies.

  • Start by gathering everything from the drawers, under the sink, the counter, your shower and any other place that you stash your beauty supplies. Put them all in one spot.
  • Sort by type. Shampoos over there, lotions over here, face products in the corner, etc. This makes it a lot easier to see what you have and what you can get rid of.
  • Look for obvious expiration dates first. Some beauty products have them. Most, alas, do not. If it’s obviously expired, toss it.
  • Next, figure out what has been lingering around too long. For example, how long have you had that tube of mascara? If it’s more than three months, you should toss it. I’ve kept it longer without an issue, but you’re basically playing eye plague roulette. I really like this post by Good Housekeeping, because it gives you pretty much all the different types of skincare products and their shelf-life.

Now, if you’re like me, getting rid of the stuff that past its shelf life isn’t really going to pare down your collection. I’m a complete beauty product addict. Remember when I did this post on how to organize your beauty stash? Well, it’s probably time I check it out again myself! Once you get rid of the “no good” stuff, start looking at the “do I really need this” stuff. I’m not recommending that you throw out your stockpile of Bath & Body Works clearance sale finds. That would be sacrilege! Instead, try this:

  • Toss anything with less than 1/4 a jar (bottle, container, whatever) that you aren’t currently using. Here’s what happens to me: it gets to the bottom and I get really excited to try something else. I figure I’ll save that last itty bitty bit for an emergency. That emergency never comes. So the giant bottle sits there with nothing in it for an eternity, until it ends up in the “purge because its expired” section.
  • Play kitchen chemist. If you have tiny bits left of three different similar scents of lotion, try mixing them together! You could either create a totally new scent or end up with the most disgusting aroma on the planet. If it’s a winner, finish it up. If it’s a loser, you were just going to toss it anyway! I wouldn’t do this with anti-aging face products, only because I’m not sure if any of the ingredients can interact with the others. It’s safe to mix like products of different scents, but once you get into proprietary formulas, it’s best to just toss it unless you really know what you’re doing.
  • Donate: You have 20 full bottles of shampoo and one head. You know you’re going to buy MORE shampoo before you even come close to putting a dent in that collection. Donate a few of those bottles to friends, family or, even better, women’s shelters.

Once you’ve finished spring cleaning your beauty supplies, put back what’s left in some sort of organized manner. Visit that post I mentioned above. It actually works, I just have to go in every few months and cull the sections.

Reviving tired winter skin with a spring skin care regimen

Affiliate links included where product are linked out. Now that you’ve culled your collection, it’s time to take a look at what you have and what you need to transition from winter to spring. This winter was so harsh in many parts of the country-mine included. As a result, my skin was drier and duller than ever before. I had to bring out the big guns, so to speak. During the spring, I can put away some of the heavy-duty face products. Unfortunately, I have a whole new problem: red face from allergies! I recommend a combination of these types of tips & products, depending on your skin:

  • Gentle exfoliation: Get rid of all those dry, dead skin cells with a light, gentle exfoliating cleanser. You can go out and buy one, or you can make your own at home. A simple sugar/water mixture is really all it takes to gently remove dead skin cells. If you’d prefer to buy something, I’ve always loved St. Ives. Their Even and Bright Citrus Scrub is fantastic. Plus it’s less than $5.
  • Moisturizer with sunscreen: While this is important year-round, if you were pretty much a hermit during the cold months you may have skipped sunscreen more often throughout the winter. Now that you’re spending time outdoors again, it’s a MUST. I love the Body Shop’s Vitamin C Daily Moisturizer SPF 30. At $20, it’s a bit pricey for single moms on a budget, but a little goes a long way.
  • Redness control: If you have allergies and end up looking a bit like Rudolph, redness control is a must for your spring beauty routine. You can go a few routes here: either use a skin care product that corrects redness, cover it up with makeup or a combination of both. I love Yes to Grapefruit’s Correct & Repair because it corrects many issues at once. The problem? It’s $15 for 1.4 oz. Eeek! So if your budget is tight, a decent liquid foundation will help you cover up that redness until your allergy medicine kicks in. Also, important tip: splurge on the GOOD soft tissues for blowing your nose! That extra few cents will go a lot further to keeping your face pretty than an expensive product.

  • Hair Care: During the winter, I can get away with washing my hair maybe twice a week. It’s not gross, trust me. I’ve been using my stash from my Perfect Hair Day review all winter long because their stuff is just so awesome. Between them and the dry air, my hair doesn’t get oily. In the spring, I have to wash my hair more often to get rid of pollen particles and ease my allergies. The Living Proof Perfect Hair Day line isn’t exactly budget-friendly. It’s a splurge, and worth it, but not everyone has the money for a splurge. I’m a big fan of the Aussie line because they have something for every hair type, work really well and cost under $5 each usually.

That was a whole lot more information than I originally thought it would be! Let me try to sum it up for you in one sentence: spring cleaning your beauty routine means getting rid of all the old crap, lightening up your load and switching out heavy winter products for easy, breezy spring products How do you spring clean your beauty routine? Tell me your tips in the comments!

For more Spring and Easter fashion and beauty posts, visit a few of my favorite bloggers:

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/how-to-spring-clean-your-beauty-routine/feed/ 1
8 Sweet & Pretty Easter Dessert Recipeshttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/8-sweet-pretty-easter-dessert-recipes/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/8-sweet-pretty-easter-dessert-recipes/#comments Thu, 26 Mar 2015 14:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=41405 Whether you’re planning a big dinner at home or bringing a dish to a party, these Easter dessert recipes are guaranteed to impress! All of these recipes look beautiful on your Easter table, yet don’t require a culinary degree to recreate. They come from some of my favorite bloggers (with permission), so this is also a chance to discover great new reads! Let’s dive in to the yummy goodness! 8 Pretty Easter Dessert Recipes   These Mini Easter Cheesecakes from Simply Stacie only have four main ingredients plus decorations. Whip them up the night before your party so they have […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

Whether you're planning a big dinner at home or bringing a dish to a party, these Easter dessert recipes are guaranteed to impress

Whether you’re planning a big dinner at home or bringing a dish to a party, these Easter dessert recipes are guaranteed to impress! All of these recipes look beautiful on your Easter table, yet don’t require a culinary degree to recreate. They come from some of my favorite bloggers (with permission), so this is also a chance to discover great new reads! Let’s dive in to the yummy goodness!

8 Pretty Easter Dessert Recipes

 

Mini Cheesecakes SimplyStacie  Easter Dessert Recipes

These Mini Easter Cheesecakes from Simply Stacie only have four main ingredients plus decorations. Whip them up the night before your party so they have time to set. If jelly beans aren’t your thing, Stacie offers other suggestions for decorating.

 

White Chocolate Birthday Cake  Easter Dessert Recipes

 

You absolutely HAVE to check out this White Chocolate Cake recipe from The Kitchen is My Playground to see what inspired it. I was surprised! This classy Easter dessert recipe is loaded with white chocolate and oh so pretty!

Easter-MM-Thumbprint-Cookies  Easter Dessert Recipes

 

Cookies are always a hit, especially when kids are around. I love these Easter M&M Thumbprint Cookies from Thrifty DIY Diva because they’re easy and pretty.

Easter Bunny Cupcakes  Easter Dessert Recipes

 

Oh the cuteness of these Easter Bunny Cupcakes from Amanda’s Cooking! She promises that they’re not at all difficult to decorate. They’ll certainly make you look like a total cupcake genius though!

Easter-Egg-cupcakes  Easter Dessert Recipes

Those bunnies would go great along side these beautiful Easter Eggs in the Grass cupcakes from Savvy Saving Couple! What a neat and original idea!

No-Bake-Bird-Nest-Cookies-a  Easter Dessert Recipes

 

These cute No Bake Bird Nest Cookies from Gator Mommy Reviews have a total prep time of just 15 minutes. Perfect for busy single moms like me! Also ideal for those last-minute “by the way, can you bring dessert?” requests.

cakebattercandy  Easter Dessert Recipes

Want to make your own Easter candy? Try these delicious homemade Cake Batter Truffles from Snappy Gourmet! To me, they’re like the offspring of a cakepop and a truffle. So original, so yummy looking!

Spring-Fudge-with-Sprinkles-  Easter Dessert Recipes

Speaking of candy, how about a little fudge? Anyone can bring chocolate fudge, but how about pink lemonade or key lime? You’ll find those recipes and more in Tammilee Tips’ Super Cute Easter Fudge post!

Bring any of these Easter dessert recipes to your party and your dish will definitely be the most popular! I can’t decide which is my favorite, I want them all! 8 PrettyEaster Recipes

Do you have a favorite Easter dessert recipe? Tell me about it in the comments!

 

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/8-sweet-pretty-easter-dessert-recipes/feed/ 0
6 Most Inspirational Quotes from JRR Tolkienhttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/6-most-inspirational-quotes-from-jrr-tolkien/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/6-most-inspirational-quotes-from-jrr-tolkien/#comments Wed, 25 Mar 2015 14:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=41396 In honor of Tolkien Reading Day, I’ve collected six of my favorite inspirational quotes from Tolkien’s books to share with you. Why six? No reason, it just seemed like a good number. Tolkien Reading Day was started by the Tolkien Society. They chose the date because it was also the date of the downfall of Sauron, the Lord of the Rings, in case you’re wondering. 6 Inspirational Quotes from Tolkien Perhaps the single most important piece of advice ever given: never laugh at live dragons. It rarely ends well. Replace “dragons” with pretty much any other dangerous creature and live by these words […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

In honor of Tolkien Reading Day, I’ve collected six of my favorite inspirational quotes from Tolkien’s books to share with you. Why six? No reason, it just seemed like a good number. Tolkien Reading Day was started by the Tolkien Society. They chose the date because it was also the date of the downfall of Sauron, the Lord of the Rings, in case you’re wondering.

6 Inspirational Quotes from Tolkien

6 Most Inspirational Quotes from JRR Tolkien

Perhaps the single most important piece of advice ever given: never laugh at live dragons. It rarely ends well. Replace “dragons” with pretty much any other dangerous creature and live by these words of wisdom.

 

6 Most Inspirational Quotes from JRR Tolkien

I’ve always preferred my dreams to the realities of others. Also, if you think about it, our world is made up of billions of realities, since no two people see it in the same way. The right dream, though, can change all those realities. Ponder this: You wouldn’t even be reading this right now if someone didn’t dream up the internet.

6 Most Inspirational Quotes from JRR Tolkien

Pretty much speaks for itself. Yes, the world is damaged and broken, as are many of its residents. It’s all filled with so much beauty and good. Little baby fingers, puppy kisses, crazy-beautiful flowers. Love and friendship. All that good is so worth fighting for.

6 Most Inspirational Quotes from JRR Tolkien

Don’t tell ABC this, otherwise they may cancel one of my favorite shows, but taking revenge against someone leads to more revenge, which leads to even more revenge. Countries are ravished, people die.

6 Most Inspirational Quotes from JRR Tolkien

Another one that speaks for itself. It’s the one decision we all make: what to do with the time we’re given. Do something wonderful with yours, whether its solving a worldwide problem or raising a single happy, healthy child.

Tolkien Travel

Ending with a simple yet very inspirational quote: Little by little, one travels far. Just like that saying, “every journey begins with a single step.” The only way we get anywhere is a little at a time. Unless you fly in a turbo jet. Then you get there fast. But in life and where it truly matters, we all get there little by little.

I hope you enjoyed these inspirational quotes from Tolkien! Even if you’re not a huge fan of the series, chances are you’ve heard him quoted many, many times in other books, on TV shows and even paraphrased by friends. His stories weren’t just epic fantasy novels, they were truly inspirational and insightful glances into humanity…even if the main character was a Hobbit.

What are your favorite inspirational quotes from Tolkien? Tell me in the comments!

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/6-most-inspirational-quotes-from-jrr-tolkien/feed/ 1
Blossom Box Kids: Simple Inspired Crafting Fun for Kids AND Momhttp://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/blossom-box-kids-simple-inspired-crafting-fun-for-kids-and-mom/ http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/blossom-box-kids-simple-inspired-crafting-fun-for-kids-and-mom/#comments Tue, 24 Mar 2015 14:00:00 +0000 http://www.prettyopinionated.com/?p=41317 I love subscription boxes almost as much as I love coffee (still looking for the perfect coffee subscription box, by the way!). Craft boxes for kids are one of my favorites. Not only do they give Jacob a creative outlet, they also let me get in touch with my own inner child. Each subscription box needs its own unique angle to work. Today, I’m sharing a new favorite: Blossom Box Kids, along with what makes them really special. Blossom Box Kids: Simple Inspired Fun When Blossom Box Kids offered me the chance to review their brand new subscription service, a few […]

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>

I love subscription boxes almost as much as I love coffee (still looking for the perfect coffee subscription box, by the way!). Craft boxes for kids are one of my favorites. Not only do they give Jacob a creative outlet, they also let me get in touch with my own inner child. Each subscription box needs its own unique angle to work. Today, I’m sharing a new favorite: Blossom Box Kids, along with what makes them really special.

Blossom Box Kids subscription box service stands out in several ways, but the most important: it inspires open-ended creativity in kids of all ages.

Blossom Box Kids: Simple Inspired Fun

When Blossom Box Kids offered me the chance to review their brand new subscription service, a few key points really stood out to me as they described their product.

  •  The founders of Blossom Box Kids are committed to using only non-toxic and natural materials that have as little an impact on the environment as possible.
  • They encourage repurposing both household items and natural objects. For example, rather than provide you with a goopy toxic glue, they give you a simple recipe to make your own.
  • Each craft features simple directions and no final result photo. Why? Because the end result should come from your child’s imagination, not a step-by-step tutorial.
  • Every box comes with a card featuring a healthy recipe that complements the theme of the month, plus a bonus item.

Blossom Box Kids Color Exploration

The first month’s box that I received focused on Color Exploration. The first thing I noticed was the newsletter. A full color cardstock-quality 8×11 sheet filled front and back with fun color facts, cool science experiments and even suggested reading. At that point,  I haven’t even dug into the bags yet and already I have a plethora of fun ideas.

Blossom Box Kids Color Exploration

The box came with four bags, each containing the basic supplies and directions to do a cool craft or experiment. My personal favorite was the yarn weaving! I got to do this craft while Jacob worked on something else. I think it turned out pretty good, don’t you? Remember, I have the crafting talent of a turtle.

Make an easy weaving craft out of Popsicle sticks and colorful yarn with the supplies and directions from Blossom Box Kids.

The funny thing: I was looking at it backwards when I was doing it, so I was really surprised at what I had accomplished when I flipped it around. Plus, I found it so relaxing, I’m thinking of buying more yarn and Popsicle sticks to make even more of them. I’ll have a house filled with little weaved sticks.

Blossom Box Kids Sun Catcher Supplies

The Sun Catcher activity was really fun too. Plus it came with more than enough supplies for me and Jacob to make one and still have stuff left over for another day. The card not only explains how to make it, but also gives suggestions on layering colors to see what happens. Plus it comes with a fun prism and suggested experiment for that. Check out our cool sun catcher:

Blossom Box Kids Sun Catcher Craft

We still have two more crafts to do: the salt water color experiment and the cool tie dye handkerchief. The open-ended nature of the crafts is definitely my favorite part about Blossom Box Kids. It’s such a great way to inspire creativity in kids. Plus, it makes Blossom Box Kids perfect for children of all ages (and moms too!). The instructions were all easy enough for Jacob and I to follow. At nine, he’s better with directions than I am. I think these crafts are perfect for kids ages 3 and up, although you’ll need to help younger kids.

[clickToTweet tweet=”Inspire creativity in your kids with Blossom Box Kids! Check it out!” quote=”Inspire creativity in your kids with Blossom Box Kids! Check it out!”]

Ready to try it out! Choose a plan at Blossom Box Kids! A one-month subscription costs $19.95 + shipping and handling. If you sign up for 3, 6 or 12 months though, you’ll save money. Each month comes with a different theme. Follow Blossom Box Kids on Facebook and Twitter to keep up with news. Check out their Instagram to see their crafts come to life, like this one of the tie dye handkerchief!

Exploring color through tie dying! #blossomboxkids

A photo posted by @blossomboxkids on


What is your favorite thing about Blossom Box Kids? Tell me in the comments!

This content belongs to Pretty Opinionated. All rights reserved.

]]>
http://www.prettyopinionated.com/2015/03/blossom-box-kids-simple-inspired-crafting-fun-for-kids-and-mom/feed/ 0